Aurealis Award winners

Tags: , ,

Trucksong cover - click to view full sizeThe Aurealis Awards came out a week or so ago and Locus posted the winners. I couldn’t help noticing that many of the winners and finalists were published by Twelfth Planet Press and FableCroft so for us northern hemispherists curious about Antipodean fiction, here are a few quick suggestions on where to start. I’ve listed all the winners and then included any finalists curious readers can find here:

Best Science Fiction Novel

  • Lexicon, Max Barry (Hachette)


Best Science Fiction Short Story

  • “Air, Water and the Grove”, Kaaron Warren (The Lowest Heaven)


Best Fantasy Novel

  • A Crucible of Souls, Mitchell Hogan (self-published)


Best Fantasy Short Story

  • The Last Stormdancer, Jay Kristoff (Thomas Dunne)


Best Horror Novel

  • Fairytales for Wilde Girls, Allyse Near (Random House Australia)


Best Horror Short Story

  • “The Year of Ancient Ghosts”, Kim Wilkins (The Year of Ancient Ghosts)


Best Young Adult Novel (Tie)

  • These Broken Stars, Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner (Allen & Unwin)
  • Fairytales for Wilde Girls, Allyse Near (Random House Australia)


Young Adult Short Story

  • “By Bone-Light”, Juliet Marillier (Prickle Moon)


Best Collection


Best Anthology (Tie)


Best Children’s Fiction

  • The Four Seasons of Lucy McKenzie, Kirsty Murray (Allen & Unwin)


Best Illustrated Book/Graphic Novel (Tie)

  • Burger Force, Jackie Ryan (self-published)
  • The Deep Vol. 2: The Vanishing Island, Tom Taylor & James Brouwer (Gestalt)


Winners were announced on April 5, 2014 at the annual Aurealis Awards ceremony at the Great Hall, University House, Australian National University, Canberra. Details at the Aurealis Awards website.

One Small Step, an anthology of discoveries Focus 2012: Highlights of Australian Short Fiction Ink Black Magic

Leave a Reply

Comment moderation is in use.
Please feel free to use this form to contact us directly, and we'll reply by email. Thank you!

 | Subscribe to comments via RSS