Death by Silver

Lambda Award Winner
Gaylactic Spectrum Award winner

In Death by Silver veteran authors Melissa Scott and Amy Griswold introduce a Victorian London where magic works, influencing every aspect of civilized life, and two very appealing detectives.

His practice newly established, metaphysician Ned Mathey can’t afford to turn away any clients. But the latest Londoner to seek Ned’s magical aid gives him pause: Mr Edgar Nevett, an arrogant banker, is the father of the bully who made Ned’s life hell at boarding school. Nevertheless, Ned accepts the commission to ensure the Nevett family silver bears no ancient or modern curses, and then prepares to banish the Nevett family to unpleasant memory again. Until Edgar Nevett is killed by an enchanted silver candlestick—one of the pieces Ned declared magically harmless.

Calling on his old school friend Julian Lynes—private detective and another victim of the younger Nevett—Ned races to solve the murder, clear the stain on his professional reputation, and lay to rest the ghosts of his past.

Assisted by Ned’s able secretary Miss Frost, who has unexpected metaphysical skills of her own, Ned and Julian explore London’s criminal underworld and sodomitical demimonde, uncover secrets and scandals, confront the unexpected murderer and the mysteries of their own relationship.


“Readers who enjoy a little romance with their mystery, or a little mystery with their romance, will definitely enjoy Death by Silver; likewise, readers who prefer a more magical, rather than technological, steampunk should also pick up Death by Silver. As an added bonus, readers are invited to visit for more bits of Victoriana and updates on the future adventures of these two likable detectives.”
– Keith Glaeske for Chelsea Station Magazine

”This is not the Victorian London you think you know. In Death by Silver, Scott and Griswold have created an eerily familiar world lit by magic of an eminently practical and occasionally murderous sort, and a story that gives equal weight to meticulous detection, twisty red herrings, thrilling adventure, and an unconventional, stiff-upper-lip romance. I love this book. Do yourself the favor of making the acquaintance of metaphysician Ned Mathey and private detective Julian Lynes…then beg Scott and Griswold (as I do) for a sequel.” –Alex Jeffers, author of Deprivation

About the Authors

Melissa Scott studied history at Harvard College and earned her PhD from Brandeis with a dissertation titled “The Victory of the Ancients: Tactics, Technology, and the Use of Classical Precedent.” She won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer in 1986, and won Lambda Literary Awards in 1994 for Trouble And Her Friends, 1995 for Shadow Man, and again in 2001 for Point of Dreams, the last written with long-time partner and collaborator, the late Lisa A. Barnett. Scott has also been short-listed for the Tiptree Award, and won a Spectrum Award for Shadow Man. Scott currently lives in North Carolina, where her living room overlooks a pond filled with alarmingly active and carnivorous turtles.

Amy Griswold has written several original media tie-in novels set in the Stargate universe.  She lives in Chapel Hill with her partner Jo, daughter Beth, and two opinionated cats.

Leave a Reply

Comment moderation is in use.
Please feel free to use this form to contact us directly, and we'll reply by email. Thank you!

 | Subscribe to comments via RSS